Frequently Asked Questions
What is Proposition 203 or the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act?
Proposition 203 allows a “qualifying patient” who has a “debilitating medical condition” to obtain an “allowable amount of marijuana” from a “nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary” and to possess and use the marijuana (cannabis) to treat or alleviate the debilitating medical condition or symptoms associated with the condition. Under Proposition 203, the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) is required to adopt and enforce a regulatory system for the distribution of marijuana for medical use, including a system for approving, renewing and revoking the registration of qualifying patients, designated caregivers, nonprofit dispensaries, and dispensary agents. The costs of the regulatory system will be paid from application and renewal fees collected, civil penalties imposed, and private donations received pursuant to this proposition.
What medical conditions will qualify a patient for an AZ medical marijuana card?
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition that produces any of the following:
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Severe and chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures (including those characteristic of epilepsy) or
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms (including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis)
How do I make an appointment to get a medical marijuana card?
You can call the CPEC clinic at 1-800-496-3024 or email us using the contact us link on the website. You can also walk in anytime Monday-Friday, 10am-6pm and Saturdays 10am-4pm. The clinic is located at 2062 East Southern Ave. Tempe, AZ 85282.
How much does the evaluation cost, how long is the appointment and when do I get my medical marijuana card?
The evaluation fee for a new patient is $150 and we offer discounts for low income patients, disabled patients, veterans, senior citizens and students. The renewal fee is $99. The evaluation appointment takes about 40 minutes. Once you apply with the Arizona health department you will receive your Arizona medical marijuana card in about 10 days.
What do I need to bring to my appointment?
Please bring your photo ID and any medical records that you have within the last 12 months that show a diagnosis of your qualifying condition. If you do not have your medical records we can request them for you or we can refer you to another doctor.
For More Information
Visit the official Division of Public Health Services – Medical Marijuana Program FAQs website.